Music- Lorde, Katy Perry

16 year old  New Zealander ‘Lorde’ is currently the first woman to dominate the alternative charts since 90s’ star Tracy Bonham’s hit single Mother Mother with her new track- Royals.

The intro is a heavy base leading into Lorde’s voice which belts out in an ethereal voice compared to Lana Del Rey:

I’ve never seen a diamond in the flesh, I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies. And I’m note not proud of my address in a torn up town no post code envy. But every song’s like gold teeth grey goose stripping in the bathroom blood stains ball gowns trashing the hotel room. We don’t care, We’re driving Cadillac in our dreams. But everybody’s like cristal mayback diamonds on your time piece islands tigers on a gold leash. We don’t care- we aren’t caught up in your love affair. But we’ll never be royals- that kind of lucks just ain’t for us.

According to the Daily Beast, the ironically named Lorde is an open critic of the hip-hop extravagant lifestyle of over the top opulence and has long been interested in royalty. Her lyrics point out that what is seen in most music videos is very different from scenes played out in real life. In Lorde’s world, we are all only dreaming of and chasing an outlandish definition of success forever out of reach, dreaming of Cadillacs in our dreams. Kudos to this sixteen year old for calling out this one dimensional fame fantasy lifestyle and for rocking the alternative charts.

In other music, Katy Perry’s new single Roar has leaked. Though critics claim it is a departure from her sweet bubblegum successes  including I kissed a Girl and California Gurls, her latest single is being compared to Sarah Barreille’s Brave. You be the judge. Personally, the song reminds me of Firework.

I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath scared to rock the boat and make a mess so I sat quietly, agreed politely. I guess that I forgot I had a choice I let you push me past the breaking point. I stood for nothing, so I  fell for everything. You held me down but I got up already brushing off the dust. You hear my voice you hear that sound like thunder gonna shake the ground. You held me down but I got up, get ready ‘cuz I’ve had enough. I see it all I see it now. I’ve got the eye of the tiger- fighter dancing through the fire ‘cuz I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar. Louder than a lion…

I like the message of dancing through the fire. Her new album should drop this October.

Leave a Reply

